Evaluation of the Assignment

Starting out on this project I was really excited to expand my knowledge in maya, animating and practicing art.

For the modeling I joined up with Clare Millar, Courtney Sproule and Sionhan Robinson and we started working on our medieval village. For this aspect of the project I was a bit worried in case my models weren’t up to the rest of the groups standards, but I was surprised at how they game out, and how I managed to finally figure out ambient occlusion.

I wasn’t happy with the amount of buildings or work I got done, but I learned a few things that I can’t wait to try out and use to build my own things.

As for UV wrapping I got around to learning the basic’s, but will still need to practice it more to get a better idea for it.

 

For the animation section of the assignment I enjoyed it too, I still need to work on movement and weight a lot more, but I was enjoying making walk cycles and making the models come to life. Again, same with the models more practice is needed, but i’m a bit more confident in that I can actually improve.

 

For the concept art assignment, I paired up with Natasha Crowley, and unlike the other two areas I feel disappointed with how the concept art turned out. I have the ideas which I do intend to carry on, but I didn’t get to improve with colours and such due to circumstances, but really intend to push myself this term to improve as much as I can. That being said, the few pieces I did create aren’t the worst thing i’ve drawn, so I can a bit of improvement from the last time I have drawn.

 

To conclude I feel disappointed in myself for not doing as much as I wanted to for an assignment that I was extremely excited to start but I really hope I get another chance during the term to show what i’m capable of.

 

Leave a comment